Hiatus and Happenings

Well, long time no type…

It has been quite a while since I was last found tip tap typing on my trusty iPad. Mainly due to being a single mum. In May, prior to my fantastic trip back to the land I consider home, I had made the decision to leave my well paying job in order to work full time at a less paying job, mothering. As rewarding as it is to be a mother, it is a time consuming, hair pulling, stressful, terribly humorous, and basically a pro bono job.

The silver lining (besides being with my kidlet for what seems like more hours than there is in a day) is that I have a little more time for beer. Not necessarily brewing, though I have managed to get two brews done in that time. But I am able to take a day off here and there to travel to breweries and spend time with other beer geeks. Which is delightful but perhaps not great for my waistline. I suppose it’s a hazard of the job I aspire to have.

Speaking of jobs and beer. I managed to weasel my way in to a sort of job at one of my favorite breweries. Sanctum. A lovely little baby of a brewery which I probably mentioned before. I may or may not have bribed them with cupcakes. And by may or may not I totally mean I did.

IMG_0311.JPG
sweet delicious bribes

If you happen to be in the area on a Thursday, Friday, or Saturday you should really come by and have me sling you a beer or three. In fact, if you haven’t already heard me mention it, you ought to swing by on the 20th of this month for our NotoberFest. Tickets on sale now!

IMG_1117.JPG
i am not above shameless promotion

In other brews (see what I did there), I attended my first meeting of the homebrew club I joined back in November, The Maltose Falcons. Now, I’ve stewarded at two competitions, and was tricked into attending a sort of meeting (it was sold to me as simply a mead tasting but nope, it was a Maltose event). But attending a meeting with lots of more experienced brewers is just a bit daunting. Add to that my general dislike of humans in larger groups and you are left with one very awkward and anxious BrewGirl.

IMG_0351.JPG
so. much. mead.

Regardless, I felt it was probably time to attend one of these things (actually I was gently bullied by one of the other Falcons but that’s okay). I sat myself, as usual, as close to the door (and a swift exit) as possible. I sat alone. I nervously scanned the growing crowd. I scrunched low in my seat and wished myself smaller and smaller with every breath. Eventually, I felt more comfortable… This may have been due to the fact we were tasting beer and I finally had some liquid courage flowing through my veins.

Either way, I didn’t have a terrible time. I even volunteered for a position on the board. I know. ME. VOLUNTEERED. Madness. Of course it was to assist the current Burgermeister, the lovely person who feeds the masses, which is a subject I can handle pretty easily. We actually have a banquet coming up for which, again, I crazily volunteered my cake lady knowledge and skills. *hangs head* I don’t know why I do this to myself. Although, on the plus side, I get to attend the banquet for free, well for the low, low price of cake makings anyway.

IMG_0333.JPG
made cake skillz yo

So there you go. So many things have changed and I am certain more will continue to evolve.

IMG_1118.JPG
clockwise from left: MacLeod Ale Brewing Company in Van Nuys, Ladyface Ale Companie in Agoura Hills, Hamilton Family Brewing in Rancho Cucamonga, Bottle Logic in Anaheim

Standard

Leave a comment